The nominees for Fortum's Board of Directors for the year 2007

Stock exchange release

The Annual General Meeting of Fortum Corporation's shareholders, held on 16 March 2006, appointed a Shareholders' Nomination Committee consisting of representatives of the three largest shareholders to prepare proposals for the next Annual General Meeting (AGM) concerning Board members and their fees. In its meeting on 30 January 2007, the Shareholders' Nomination Committee decided to propose to the AGM, which is to be held 28 March 2007, that the following persons are elected to the Board of Directors:

Peter Fagernäs as chairman
Birgitta Kantola as deputy chairman
Esko Aho as member
Birgitta Johansson-Hedberg as member
Matti Lehti as member
Marianne Lie as member
Christian Ramm-Schmidt as member

The Shareholders' Nomination Committee proposes to Fortum Corporation's AGM that the following fees are paid to the members of Board:

Chairman, EUR 55,000/year
Deputy chairman, EUR 42,000/year
Member, EUR 30,000/year
Meeting fee, EUR 500/meeting. The meeting fee is also paid for committee meetings and is paid in double to a member who lives outside Finland in Europe.

Furthermore, travel expenses shall be compensated for in accordance with the Company’s travel policy.

Fortum Corporation
Carola Teir-Lehtinen
Senior Vice President, Corporate Communications

Further information:
Markku Tapio, Chairman, Shareholders' Nomination Committee, tel. +358 (0)9 1606 3598

Helsinki Stock Exchange
Key media

About Us

Fortum’s purpose is to create energy that improves life for present and future generations. Catering to the versatile needs of our customers, we generate, distribute and sell electricity and heat, and offer related expert services. Our operations focus on the Nordic and Baltic countries, Russia and Poland. In 2013, Fortum’s sales totalled EUR 6.1 billion and comparable operating profit was EUR 1.6 billion. We employ approximately 8,800 people. Fortum’s shares are traded on the NASDAQ OMX Helsinki.