The Marcus Wallenberg foundation

The Marcus Wallenberg Prize for scientific research in the forest industry was awarded this evening at a festive ceremony in the Hall of Mirrors at the Grand Hotel in Stockholm. The prize was presented by H.M. King Carl XVI Gustaf in the presence of H.M. Queen Silvia and representatives of the international forest industry and international forest research. As previously announced, the prize of two million Swedish kronor was awarded to Professor Erkki Tomppo of the Finnish Forest Research Institute in Helsinki for his pioneering achievement within the field of forest assessment. In a multi-source forest inventory system, his methodology integrates data collected from remote sensing, ground sampling and other sources to significantly improve the quality of forest information. His scientific accomplishments provide new directions for forest assessment and ecological monitoring and are an important tool for evaluating progress in the sustain- able management of world forests. The Marcus Wallenberg Prize The Marcus Wallenberg Prize, an international award, was established in 1980 by Stora Kopparbergs Bergslags Aktiebolag of Sweden to honor Dr. Wallenberg, who served as a member of the Company's Board of Directors and was its Chairman for many years. The Prize was instituted to recognize, encourage and stimulate research of a pioneering nature that significantly increases knowledge and technical progress in areas of concern to forest industries. The Prize has been awarded 14 times since 1980. The prize committee includes some of the world's most prominent researchers within their fields. Note to editors: Professor Erkki Tomppo will present his methodology at a seminar to be held at The Royal Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA) at Grev Turegatan 16, Stockholm, on Tuesday, October 14 from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon. Other participants will include Dr. Norman E. Johnson of Weyerhaeuser Company, Mr. Stephen Bass of the International Institute for Environment and Development, Dr. Franz-Lambert Eisele of the North Rhine-Westphalia Ministry of Environment, Regional Planning and Agriculture, and Professor Bo Ranneby of the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences.


Documents & Links