UT Arlington College of Nursing and Health Innovation dean to receive prestigious Legion of Honor Gold Medallion

ARLINGTON, Texas – Anne Bavier, dean of The University of Texas at Arlington College of Nursing and Health Innovation, will be awarded the Legion of Honor Gold Medallion from the Philadelphia-based Chapel of Four Chaplains during a March 23 ceremony at The University of Texas at Arlington.

The Gold Medallion is the organization’s highest award. It is presented to persons whose exceptional leadership has brought worldwide attention, and whose life epitomizes the spirit of the sacrifice of the four U.S. Army chaplains now notably known as the Four Chaplains.

Distinguished past recipients have included U.S. Presidents Harry Truman, Dwight Eisenhower, Ronald Reagan and Jimmy Carter. Notable luminaries who received the award were Nelson Mandela, Bob Hope, Mickey Rooney, Shirley Chisholm and Oprah Winfrey, as well as deserving military personnel, veterans and civilians from all walks of life.

”The manner in which the Chapel of Four Chaplains reached out to honor me was unexpected and gives me great pride,” said Bavier. “My pathways have been enriched by many generous people who taught me both formally and informally and made my efforts possible.”

UT Arlington President Vistasp Karbhari applauded the honor and remarked on the significant impact that Dean Bavier has already had on the College of Nursing and Health Innovation.

“We knew we were getting a remarkable leader and visionary when we hired Dr. Bavier just under a year ago,” Karbhari said. “What has stood out is not just her impressive leadership, but also her demonstrable commitment to improving health care and nursing education globally and in ensuring that UT Arlington remains a global leader in education, research and community engagement in an area that demonstrates the impact that we can have globally. This honor is a well-deserved acknowledgement of her leadership.”

Lawrence Herrmann, a Marine, a criminal defense attorney and former New York State and federal prosecutor, nominated Dean Bavier for the Gold Medallion.

“Dr. Bavier, throughout her illustrious career, has epitomized the concept of caregiver throughout her exceptional service to humanity, nursing and the health sciences as practitioner, leader, educator and scholar,” said Herrmann, who also serves as a member of the Chapel of Four Chaplains Board of Directors.

“She has continued to enrich and expand the art and science – known as nursing – in a manner that serves as a beacon to students and professionals alike throughout the reaches of the United States and the civilized world.”

Dean Bavier joined UT Arlington in 2014 as the founding dean of the College of Nursing and Health Innovation. Renowned for its innovations in simulation and on-line education, the College enrolls more than 17,000 students annually and has 350 faculty members with nationally recognized teaching, clinical, and research expertise in areas that advance the human condition.

Dean Bavier is a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing and the Institute of Medicine of Chicago and was the first recipient of the Edith Moore Copeland Award for Excellence in Creativity from Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing. In addition to her experience in higher education, Bavier worked as a program director in the National Institutes of Health’s National Cancer Institute and as deputy director of the Office of Research on Women’s Health in the National Institutes of Health, where she received the agency’s highest award, the Director’s Award, for exceptional leadership.

She is president-elect of the National League for Nursing and has authored or co-authored numerous publications on nursing education, professional development and oncology nursing.

During World War II, the Four Chaplains gave their lives to save other civilian and military personnel as the troop ship U.S. Army Transport Dorchester sank on Feb. 3, 1943. The chaplains helped other soldiers board lifeboats and gave up their own life jackets when the supply ran out. The chaplains joined arms, said prayers, and sang hymns as they went down with the ship.

The Four Chaplains Memorial Foundation exists to further the cause of  “unity without uniformity” by encouraging goodwill and cooperation among all people. The organization achieves its mission by advocating for and honoring people whose deeds symbolize the legacy of the Four Chaplains. 

The Legion of Honor Award programs publicly recognize and honor outstanding members of society whose lives model the giving spirit and unconditional service to community, nation and humanity without regard to race, religion or creed exemplified so dramatically by the Four Chaplains. Visit www.fourchaplains.org to learn more about the organization.

Email specialevents@uta.edu or call 817-272-5300 for more information about the award presentation.

About the College of Nursing and Health Innovation

The UT Arlington College of Nursing and Health Innovation is a leader in the development of scientific evidence and educational models that equip nurses and other health care professionals to effectively and quickly integrate into the healthcare scientific and practice workforce.  Our academic programs prepare individuals for clinical practice, teaching, research, leadership, administration, and health care policy. Visit www.uta.edu/nursing/ to learn more.

About The University of Texas at Arlington

The University of Texas at Arlington is a comprehensive research institution of more than 48,000 students around the world and the second largest institution in The University of Texas System. The Chronicle of Higher Education ranked UT Arlington as the seventh fastest-growing public research university in 2013. U.S. News & World Report ranks UT Arlington fifth in the nation for undergraduate diversity. Visit www.uta.edu to learn more, and find UT Arlington rankings and recognition at www.uta.edu/uta/about/rankings.php.