Cream of Devon’s tourism industry recognised at first ever Devon Tourism Awards

The cream of Devon’s tourism industry has been recognised for its outstanding service at the first ever Devon Tourism Awards at a prestigious ceremony at the Thurlestone Hotel in South Devon, last night. (September 30). www.visitdevon.co.uk/devonawards The owners of Mazzard Farm holiday cottages, in East Devon, are celebrating today after being crowned ‘winner of winners’ of the inaugural Devon Tourism Awards. Visit: www.mazzardfarmcottages.com. Ruud Jansen Venneboer and Jacqueline Parker set up Mazzard Farm holiday cottages two years ago near Ottery St Mary before being presented with their Award at the ceremony hosted by BBC Radio Devon presenter, Judi Spiers. The couple were praised for their community involvement and for developing a unique visitor guide to East Devon. Mazzard Farm holiday cottages also won two other awards for its green credentials and its self catering facilities. It won Gold in the Sustainable Tourism category as well as a Silver award in the Self-catering and Serviced Apartment of the Year category. Another East Devon tourism business scooped a major prize with Combe House Hotel near Honiton winning the Hotel of the Year award. Visit: www.combehousedevon.com. South Devon bed and breakfast owners excelled in the Band B Guest accommodation and Inn of the Year category with three businesses winning awards from the Torbay area. The Somerville Hotel in Torquay won gold in this category (www.somervillehotel.co.uk) with silver being awarded to the Cary Arms at Babbacombe (www.caryarms.co.uk) and the Villa Marina in Torquay (www.villamarina-torquay.co.uk). Attraction of the Year was won by Castle Drogo at Drewsteignton. Visit: www.nationaltrust.org. Millbrook Cottages at Umberleigh won Gold for the Self-Catering and Serviced Apartment of the Year. Visit: www.millbrookcottages.co.uk. The Tourism Experience and Activity Award was presented to Treasure Trails for their Devon ‘mystery trails’, visit. Visit: www.treasuretrails.co.uk. Woodovis Park in Tavistock won the Holiday Park of the Year Award. Visit: www.woodovis.com A special award for services to tourism was also presented to Barry Cole for his work at the Riviera International Conference Centre in Torquay and for his drive in putting Devon on the conference map. Visit: www.rivieracentre.co.uk. BBC Radio Devon presenter Judi Spiers who hosted the awards evening commented that the event had proved to be a great success in showcasing the best of Devon’s tourism industry; “Devon is famous for the warm welcome it gives to its visitors, but this event demonstrates that Devon also has an innovative tourism industry which is constantly striving for excellence in what is a very competitive and challenging market. It is wonderful to see so many businesses taking part in the Devon Awards and proving that the county is very much a leading player in UK tourism.” Successful businesses in the Devon Awards will be fast tracked into the South West Tourism Excellence Awards in November, and then possibly on to the National Enjoy England Awards in the Spring of next year. Note to editors: The full list of winners in the Devon tourism awards is as follows: SELF CATERING AND SERVICED APARTMENT OF THE YEAR – sponsored by Digital New Media: www.dnm-uk.com GOLD Millbrook Cottages, Umberleigh, Devon www.millbrookcottages.co.uk SILVER Hembury Court, Broadhembury, Devon: www.hemburycourt.co.uk Mazzard Farm holiday cottages, Ottery St Mary, Devon: www.mazzardfarm.com FINALIST: Atlantis Holiday Apartments, Torquay: www.atlantistorquay.co.uk BED & BREAKFAST, GUEST ACCOMMODATION AND INN OF THE YEAR - sponsored by RH Advertising: www.rhads.co.uk and eviivo: www.eviivo.com GOLD The Somerville, Torquay: www.somervillehotel.co.uk SILVER The Cary Arms, Babbacombe, Devon:www.caryarms.co.uk Villa Marina, Torquay:www.villamarina-torquay.co.uk TOURISM EXPERIENCE & ACTIVITY AWARD sponsored by Hotel Perfect: www.hotelperfect.co.uk GOLD Treasure Trails, Devon: www.treasuretrails.co.uk SILVER O’Connors Campers, Okehampton: www.oconnorscampers.co.uk Go Ape, Haldon Forest, Devon: www.goape.co.uk HOLIDAY PARK OF THE YEAR - sponsored by Stephens Scown solicitors: www.stephens-scown.co.uk GOLD Woodovis Park, Tavistock, Devon: www.woodovis.com SILVER Cofton Country Holidays, Dawlish, Devon: www.coftonholidays.co.uk FINALIST Ladram Bay Holiday Park, Budleigh Salterton, Devon: www.ladrambay.co.uk SUSTAINABLE TOURISM AWARD - sponsored by A Head for PR: www.aheadforpr.co.uk GOLD Mazzard Farm holiday cottages, Ottery St Mary, Devon: www.mazzardfarm.com SILVER Wheatland Farm eco lodges and cottage, Winkleigh, Devon: www.wheatlandfarm.co.uk Pennywell Farm, Buckfastleigh, Devon: www.pennywellfarm.co.uk HOTEL OF THE YEAR - sponsored by Clockwork Marketing and Direct Mail: www.clock-work.co.uk GOLD Combe House Devon, Gittisham, Honiton, Devon: www.combehousedevon.com SiLVER Bovey Castle, North Bovey, Devon: www.boveycastle.com Soar Mill Cove Hotel, Salcombe, Devon: www.soarmillcove.co.uk ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR - sponsored by Blue Chip Vacations: www.bluechipvacations.com GOLD Castle Drogo, Drewsteignton, Devon: www.nationaltrust.org.uk SILVER Exmoor Zoo, Barnstaple, Devon: www.exmoorzoo.co.uk Paignton Zoo Environmental Park, Paignton, Devon: www.paigntonzoo.co.uk FINALIST Dartington Crystal, Torrington, Devon: www.dartington.co.uk SPECIAL AWARD FOR SERVICES TO TOURISM Barry Cole – Riviera International Conference Centre: www.rivieracentre.co.uk WINNER OF WINNERS - sponsored by Exeter International Airport: www.exeter-airport.co.uk Mazzard Farm, Ottery St. Mary, Devon About Visit Devon Visit Devon is the destination management organisation responsible for promoting Devon to the world. The organisation acts as a voice for tourism in Devon and its aim is simple - to increase the number of visitors to Devon by promoting the county as a year-round destination for business or leisure. The organization brings together, adds value to and enhances the work and activities undertaken by the six Area Tourism Partnerships across the county. Visit Devon is committed to growing the tourism sector sustainably, increasing the skills within the industry, and raising the quality of the visitor experience. Visit Devon is a public-private partnership limited by guarantee. The not for profit company comprises nine member organizations including the six Area Tourism Partnerships (The Heart of Devon, Visit Plymouth, North Devon+, The Dartmoor Partnership, The English Riviera Tourist Board, and Visit South Devon, Devon County Council, The Devon Association of Tourist attractions (Data), and Devon Farms. Visit Devon is the trading name of Destination Devon Ltd September 2010 (Visit Devon 032)

Tags:

Media

Media