Shortlist for the Devon Tourism Awards 2010 is announced

Devon’s leading tourism businesses have been short-listed for the Devon Tourism Awards which will be presented at a prestigious ceremony at the end of the month. There are seven categories in the competition which celebrates the cream of the Devon tourism industry and which is also designed to raise the profile of the county’s high performing tourism providers. The best business will then be selected from the seven categories for the coveted Winner of Winners Award. The winners will finally be announced at the awards ceremony on September 30 at the Thurlestone Hotel in South Devon. www.visitdevon.co.uk/devonawards Successful businesses in the Devon Awards will then be fast tracked into the South West Tourism Excellence Awards in November 2010, and then possibly on to the National Enjoy England Awards in the Spring of next year. The General Manager of Visit Devon Rosie Bates says that Devon tourism providers have performed very well this year which meant choosing the shortlist was a tough job for the judging panel: “It was difficult choosing the shortlist but it was also inspiring to see that so many businesses have continued to invest in their services during what are challenging economic times for many businesses. But such investment has clearly paid off and we were very impressed with the range and high standard of accommodation and services that are being offered to visitors to Devon.” The shortlist is as follows: HOTEL OF THE YEAR - sponsored by Clockwork Marketing and Direct Mail: www.clock-work.co.uk • Bovey Castle, North Bovey www.boveycastle.com • Combe House Devon, Gittisham, Honiton www.combehousedevon.com • Soar Mill Cove Hotel, Salcombe www.soarmillcove.co.uk BED & BREAKFAST, GUEST ACCOMMODATION AND INN OF THE YEAR - sponsored by RH Advertising and eviivo www.rhads.co.uk and www.eviivo.com • The Cary Arms, Babbacombe www.caryarms.co.uk • The Somerville, Torquay www.somervillehotel.co.uk • Villa Marina, Torquay www.villamarina-torquay.co.uk SELF CATERING AND SERVICED APARTMENT OF THE YEAR - sponsored by Digital New Media: www.dnm-uk.com • Millbrook Cottages, Umberleigh www.millbrookcottages.co.uk • Atlantis Holiday Apartments, Torquay www.atlantistorquay.co.uk • Hembury Court, Broadhembury www.hemburycourt.co.uk • Mazzard Farm holiday cottages, Ottery St Mary www.mazzardfarm.com HOLIDAY PARK OF THE YEAR - sponsored by Stephens Scown solicitors: www.stephens-scown.co.uk • Woodovis Park, Tavistock www.wooodovis.com • Ladram Bay Holiday Park, Budleigh Salterton www.ladrambay.co.uk • Cofton Country Holidays, Dawlish www.coftonholidays.co.uk ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR - sponsored by Blue Chip Vacations: www.bluechipvacations.com • Exmoor Zoo, Barnstaple www.exmoorzoo.co.uk • Castle Drogo, Drewsteignton www.nationaltrust.org.uK • Paignton Zoo Environmental Park, Paignton www.nationaltrust.org.uk • Dartington Crystal, Torrington www.dartington.co.uk SUSTAINABLE TOURISM AWARD - sponsored by A Head for PR: www.aheadforpr.co.uk • Wheatland Farm eco lodges and cottage, Winkleigh www.wheatlandfarm.co.uk • Mazzard Farm holiday cottages, Ottery St Mary www.mazzardfarm.com • Pennywell Farm, Buckfastleigh www.pennywellfarm.co.uk TOURISM EXPERIENCE & ACTIVITY AWARD - sponsored by Hotel Perfect www.hotelperfect.co.uk • O’Connors Campers, Okehampton www.oconnorscampers.co.uk • Treasure Trails www.treasuretrails.co.uk • Go Ape, Haldon Forest www.goape.co.uk The Winner of Winners sponsored by Exeter Airport: www.exeter-airport.co.uk About Visit Devon Visit Devon is the destination management organisation responsible for promoting Devon to the world. The organisation acts as a voice for tourism in Devon and its aim is simple - to increase the number of visitors to Devon by promoting the county as a year-round destination for business or leisure. The organization brings together, adds value to and enhances the work and activities undertaken by the six Area Tourism Partnerships across the county. Visit Devon is committed to growing the tourism sector sustainably, increasing the skills within the industry, and raising the quality of the visitor experience. Visit Devon is a public-private partnership limited by guarantee. The not for profit company comprises nine member organizations including the six Area Tourism Partnerships (Exeter and Essential Devon, Visit Plymouth, North Devon+, The Dartmoor Partnership, The English Riviera Tourist Board, and Visit South Devon) Devon County Council, The Devon Association of Tourist Attractions (Data), and Devon Farms. Visit Devon is the trading name of Destination Devon Ltd

Tags:

Media

Media