Akzo Nobel approves separation and Board changes

Arnhem, the Netherlands, March 1, 2007 — Following on from the recent announcement regarding the impending separation of the company, Akzo Nobel’s Board of Management and Supervisory Board formally decided, on February 28, to divest a minority stake in Organon BioSciences through a listing of approximately 20 to 30 percent of Organon BioSciences shares on Euronext Amsterdam.

In addition, the company today also announced several changes in the Board of Management and the Supervisory Board. Toon Wilderbeek, the Akzo Nobel Board of Management member responsible for Pharma, has resigned as of February 28, while three Supervisory Board members—Cees van Lede, Abraham Cohen and Alain Mérieux—will be leaving their positions on May 1, 2007.

Appointed to the company’s Board of Management in 2002, Mr. Wilderbeek has ended his distinguished career with Akzo Nobel to concentrate fully on his role as CEO of the newly-established Organon BioSciences organization. A former President of Intervet International, he first joined the company in 1980.

Mr. van Lede, whose current term expires on May 1, holds advisory positions at a number of companies and public and private organizations. He has decided to limit the range of his activities and will therefore not be available for reappointment to Akzo Nobel’s Supervisory Board. He has served the company for 16 years; nine as Chairman of the Board of Management and four as a member of the Supervisory Board. During his tenure, the company merged with Nobel Industries, acquired Courtaulds Plc and divested Acordis, the fibers business formerly operated by Akzo Nobel.

Having reached the age limit, and after serving on the Supervisory Board for 15 years, Mr. Cohen will resign after the Annual General Meeting (AGM) on April 25, 2007.

Having served on the Supervisory Board for the past five years, Mr. Mérieux has informed the company that he will also resign after the AGM, for personal reasons.

It will also be proposed at the AGM that Mrs. Peggy Bruzelius, former CEO of ASEA Brown Boveri AB and former Executive Vice-President of Skandinaviska Enskilda Banken, be appointed to the Supervisory Board for a four-year term.

The three Supervisory Board departures will signal the introduction of a new set-up—reducing the number of members from ten to eight—which is regarded as a logical consequence of the company’s separation plans. Akzo Nobel shareholders will be asked to approve the reduction in the number of Supervisory Board members during April’s AGM.

Akzo Nobel’s Supervisory Board and Board of Management would like to acknowledge a debt of gratitude to Mr. Wilderbeek and all three Supervisory Board members for their much-valued service, and they wish Mr. Wilderbeek every success in his new role.


Documents & Links