AMA Announces Board of Trustees for 2015-2016

CHICAGO - The American Medical Association (AMA) today introduced the 21 members of its Board of Trustees for the coming year following elections held during the Annual Meeting of the AMA House of Delegates.

Steven J. Stack, M.D., an emergency physician practicing in Lexington, Ky., has been sworn in as the 170th president of the AMA, the nation’s largest physician organization. Stack, who is the organization’s youngest president in the past 160 years, will focus his tenure on advancing the AMA’s three strategic areas: improving health outcomes for the 86 million Americans living with pre-diabetes and the 70 million with hypertension; accelerating change in medical education to ensure physicians are prepared to meet the needs of a 21st Century health care system; and enhancing physician satisfaction and practice sustainability.

Andrew W. Gurman, M.D., an orthopaedic hand surgeon from Hollidaysburg, Pa., was elected as the AMA’s new president-elect, while Robert M. Wah, M.D., a reproductive endocrinologist and obstetrician-gynecologist in McLean, Va., assumed the office of the AMA’s immediate past president.

The new chair of the AMA Board of Trustees is Stephen R. Permut, M.D., J.D., a family medicine physician from Wilmington, Del.  Patrice A. Harris, M.D., M.A., a psychiatrist and public health administrator from Atlanta, Ga., was chosen as chair-elect.

The other executive officers on the AMA Board of Trustees for 2015-2016 are:

  • Susan R. Bailey, M.D., an allergist practicing in Fort Worth, Texas, was elected speaker of the AMA’s House of Delegates.
  • Gerald E. Harmon, M.D., a family physician from Pawleys Island, S.C., was named secretary.
  • Barbara L. McAneny, M.D., a medical oncologist/hematologist from Albuquerque, N.M. assumed the office of immediate past chair.

The newly elected member of the AMA Board of Trustees is:

  • Bruce A. Scott, M.D., an otolaryngologist from Louisville, Ky., was elected vice speaker of the AMA’s House of Delegates.

The returning members of the AMA Board of Trustees are:

  • Maya A. Babu, M.D., M.B.A., a neurosurgical resident in Rochester, Minn.
  • David O. Barbe, M.D., M.H.A., a family medicine physician from Mountain Grove, Mo.
  • Jesse M. Ehrenfeld, M.D., M.P.H., an anesthesiologist from Nashville, Tenn.
  • Julie K. Goonewardene, associate vice chancellor for innovation and entrepreneurship for the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kan.
  • William E. Kobler, M.D., a family physician from Rockford, Ill.
  • Russell W.H. Kridel, M.D., a facial plastic surgeon from Houston, Texas.
  • Mary Anne McCaffree, M.D., a pediatrician from Oklahoma City, Okla.
  • Albert J. Osbahr, M.D., a family and occupational physician from Hickory, N.C.
  • Dina Marie Pitta, M.P.P., a medical student at University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health in Madison
  • Jack Resneck Jr., M.D., a dermatologist from San Francisco, Calif.
  • Carl A. Sirio, M.D., a critical care physician and internist from Pittsburgh, Pa.,
  • Georgia A. Tuttle, M.D., a dermatologist from Lebanon, N.H.

Members of the AMA Board of Trustees are elected by physicians and medical students representing more than 180 state and specialty medical societies who gathered in Chicago this week for the Annual Meeting of the House of Delegates, the AMA's policy-making body. The mission of the AMA Board of Trustees is to foster the promotion of the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health.

# # #

Media Contact:
Robert J. Mills
AMA Media & Editorial
(312) 464-5970

About the AMA
The American Medical Association is the premier national organization dedicated to empowering the nation’s physicians to continually provide safer, higher quality, and more efficient care to patients and communities. For more than 165 years the AMA has been unwavering in its commitment to using its unique position and knowledge to shape a healthier future for America. For more information, visit



About Us

About the American Medical Association (AMA) Since 1847 the American Medical Association has had one mission: to promote the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health. Today, the core strategy used to carry out this mission is our concerted effort to help doctors help patients. We do this by uniting physicians nationwide to work on the most important professional and public health issues. In 2011 our strategic plan focuses on five areas that encompass the central elements in health system reform: Access to care Quality of care Cost of health care Prevention and wellness Payment models Vist the AMA's 2011 strategic plan at: These topics represent the major areas of emphasis in which the AMA carries out its mission in the current environment. Our proposed actions are not only directed at solving reform issues at the policy level, but also at helping physicians adapt to—and adopt—changes in a productive way. To learn more about how the AMA is moving medicine forward, read our flyer at: