DuVal Committee Co-Chairs Show Statewide Strength

Fred DuVal's exploratory committee for Governor today released the names of its statewide co-chairs, drawing from Arizona's best tradition of bipartisan civic leadership.



Christina Borrego, 602-721-5779 (mobile)


Phoenix—Feb. 28, 2013—Fred DuVal's exploratory committee for Governor today released the names of its statewide co-chairs, drawing from Arizona's best tradition of bipartisan civic leadership.  

Chaired by Phoenix City Councilman and firefighter Daniel Valenzuela, and civic leader CC Goldwater as Treasurer, the exploratory committee is now co-chaired by a diverse group of Democrats, Republicans, business, Latino, Tribal and rural leaders that includes Arizona Senate Democratic Leader Leah Landrum Taylor, former Attorney General Grant Woods, former Sierra Vista Chamber of Commerce President Judy Gignac, National Council of La Raza Board member Daniel Ortega, and many more, who appear below.

"Fred has succeeded in business and education because he brings people together to accomplish big things," said Daniel Valenzuela, Phoenix City Councilman and Committee Chairman.

"Arizona needs a leader. A strong indication of the leadership Fred brings to Arizona can be seen by the growing list of prominent leaders who are joining our effort; business leaders and Democrats, labor leaders and Republicans, educators, attorneys and Independents, people from virtually every corner of our state."

"Fred DuVal will be a Governor who looks out for every community in Arizona, and I trust him to do the right thing, even when it's hard," said Paula Aboud of Tucson, former State Senate Democratic Whip. "He listens, and he is open to ideas, no matter where they come from."

“Arizona is at a tipping point.  Fred is exactly the right person at the right time.  The issue is not Republican versus Democrat, its forward versus backward,” said CC Goldwater, the committee’s Treasurer.  “Fred will help reunite us.”

Also commenting was Donna Davis, the former CEO of AZ Small Business Association, "With our climate, our cost of living, and our work force, Arizona can lead the Southwest as an economic force, but that kind of achievement takes leadership. Fred has what it takes, and the businesspeople I know are universally impressed by the quality of his ideas, his vision for Arizona and our economic future." 

"We are so fortunate to live in Arizona, and if we work together we can make Arizona's future even better for our children," said DuVal. "That is why I am so excited to welcome my fellow Arizonans to our effort. It is a diverse group, full of real world ideas and rooted in experience. I'm putting thousands of miles on my car getting around our state to hear from people, and everywhere I go I see great strength, a great spirit and an overwhelming desire to see this state make a comeback and to thrive."  

Fred DuVal Governor 2014 Leadership:

Daniel Valenzuela, Phoenix City Councilman and Committee Chairman

CC Goldwater, civic leader and Committee Treasurer 

Statewide co-chairs currently include:

Mary Rose Wilcox, Maricopa County Supervisor

Donna Davis, Former CEO AZ Small Business Association

Liz Archuleta, Chair Coconino County Board of Supervisors

John Whiteman, Former Chairman and CEO, Empire Machinery

David Schapira, Former Senate Democratic Leader

Bruce Dusenberry, Chairman, Tucson Chamber of Commerce

Rosie Lopez, Community activist

Tom Kelly, Former President and CEO, Shaller Anderson.

Sheila Kloefkorn, President KEO Marketing

Leah Landrum Taylor, Senate Democratic Leader

Judy Gignac, Former Cochise County Board of Supervisors

Jack Jackson, Jr., AZ State Senator and Navajo Nation Member

Angela LeFevre, Former President Democrats of the Red Rocks

Linda Lopez, AZ Senate Assistant Democratic Leader

Janie Hydrick, Former State Director NEA

Molly McGovern, SEIU Vice President and Political Director

Paula Aboud, Former AZ Senate Democratic Whip

Regina Romero, Tucson City Council

Dan Eckstrom, Former Pima County Board of Supervisors

Phil Gordon, Former Phoenix Mayor

Bob McLendon, Former AZ House Democratic Leader, Yuma County Supervisor

Grant Woods, Former AZ Attorney General

Jack Brown, Former AZ House and Senate Democratic Leader

Danny Ortega, Former AZ State Chair National Council of La Raza

David Gregory, Former National and State AFL-CIO Executive

Herman Chanen, Chairman Chanen Construction

Daniel Hernandez, board member, Sunnyside Unified School District




Quick facts

Fred DuVal's exploratory committee's co-chairs feature bipartisan civic leaders
Tweet this
Phoenix City Councilman Daniel Valenzuela will chair Fred DuVal's exploratory committee for Governor
Tweet this