Changes in Handelsbanken’s management

Report this content

Handelsbanken has today formed a new Executive Management team, consisting of the following executives: 

Carina Åkerström, President and Group Chief Executive.
Rolf Marquart, Chief Financial Officer. Rolf Marquart is also the Bank’s CFO at present.
Per Beckman, Chief Credit Officer. Per Beckman is also the Bank’s CCO at present.
Dan Lindwall, Head of Handelsbanken Capital Markets. Dan Lindwall is also Head of Handelsbanken Capital Markets at present.
Martin Wasteson, Chief Legal Officer. Martin Wasteson is also the Bank’s CLO at present.
Magnus Ericson, HR. Magnus Ericson is appointed Acting Head of Group Human Resources. He is currently Head of Handelsbanken’s Regional Bank Northern Sweden. Magnus Ericson replaces Stina Petersson, who is leaving her position.
Juha Rantamaa, CIO (IT and infrastructure). Juha Rantamaa is appointed Acting CIO. He is currently Head of IT Operations and Development. Juha Rantamaa replaces Joakim Jansson, who is leaving his position. 

The following will be co-opted to the Bank’s Executive Management with effect from 16 April:
Katarina Ljungqvist, Head of Business Development in Sweden. Katarina Ljungqvist is currently Head of Handelsbanken’s Regional Bank Western Sweden.
Michael Green, Head of Handelsbanken in Stockholm. Michael Green is currently Head of Handelsbanken in Germany. 

This new executive management replaces the current Senior Management structure. Heads of regional banks and heads of the Bank’s home markets will, however, continue to report directly to the Group Chief Executive. 

Maria Nordin Wessman, who currently works in the Bank’s Group Communications department, is appointed Acting Chief Communications Officer and Head of Sustainability. She replaces Elisabeth Jamal Bergström, who is leaving her position. 

To ensure the integrity and complete independence of the Group-wide control functions, Pål Bergström, Chief Compliance Officer, Maria Hedin, Chief Risk Officer, and Tord Jonerot, Chief Audit Executive, will not be a part of the Bank’s Executive Management, but will report directly to the Group Chief Executive and Board of directors in accordance with the applicable procedures, rules and guidelines.  

For further information, please contact:
Carina Åkerström, President and Group Chief Executive, tel. +46 8–22 92 20
Mats Olsson, Handelsbanken’s Press Office, tel. +46 8–701 35 47, +46 70688 07 99.

This information is of the type that Handelsbanken is obliged to make public pursuant to the EU Market Abuse Regulation, the Swedish Securities Markets Act and the Swedish Financial Instruments Trading Act. The information was submitted for publication through the agency of the contact person set out above, at 8:30 CET on 4 April 2019. 

For more information about Handelsbanken, see: 


Documents & Links