• Ice queen Katarina Witt heads Laureus Olympic legends Nadia Comaneci, Cathy Freeman, Franz Klammer, Edwin Moses and Steve Redgrave
  • Laureus World Sports Awards to be held in Berlin on April 18
  • Apply for media accreditation at

BERLIN, April 4, 2016 – Joachim Löw, coach of world champions Germany, and team manager Oliver Bierhoff, will be among the guests at the 2016 Laureus World Sports Awards Ceremony in Berlin on Monday, April 18.

They are among an illustrious team of football stars, past and present, who will be present including Cafu, Luis Figo, Alessandro Del Piero, Marcel Desailly, Jens Lehmann, Carles Puyol, Raul, Jamie Redknapp, plus legendary women’s player Nia Künzer.

Stars from a wide variety of sports will be in Berlin. On the guest list are: Paralympic stars Marie Bochet, Martin Braxenthaler, Anna Schaffelhuber and Michael Teuber; former Olympic cyclists Chris Hoy and Victoria Pendleton; rugby’s Brian O’Driscoll and Sean Fitzpatrick; skateboarder Bob Burnquist; boxers Marvelous Marvin Hagler and Axel Schulz, golfer Martin Kaymer and pole vaulter Yelena Isinbayeva.

Laureus Academy Members attending include Olympians Nadia Comaneci, Cathy Freeman, Kip Keino, Edwin Moses, Alexey Nemov, Steve Redgrave, along with Olympic skiers Franz Klammer and Alberto Tomba and skating queen Katarina Witt.

Among the Laureus Academy Members, Ambassadors, Nominees and Guests so far confirmed are:

Boris Becker Mick Doohan Kip Keino Victoria Pendleton
Oliver Bierhoff Morné du Plessis Chloe Kim Hugo Porta
Ole Bischof Pieter du Preez Christa Kinshofer Carles Puyol
Stefan Blöcher Omara Durand Franz Klammer Raul
Fredi Bobic Luis Figo Philip Köster Steve Redgrave
Marie Bochet Anna Fenninger Stefan Kretzschmar Jamie Redknapp
Ian Botham Sean Fitzpatrick Nia Künzer Anna Schaffelhuber
Martin Braxenthaler Cathy Freeman Jens Lehmann Axel Schulz
Bob Burnquist Jan Frodeno Tegla Loroupe Michael Tate
Cafu Tanni Grey-Thompson Joachim Löw Michael Teuber
Nadia Comaneci Marvelous Marvin Hagler Garrett McNamara Daley Thompson
Liu Cuiqing Mika Hakkinen Edwin Moses Alberto Tomba
Alessandro Del Piero Regina Halmich Robby Naish Pascal Wehrlein
Marcel Desailly Chris Hoy Ilie Nastase Katarina Witt
Kapil Dev Yelena Isinbayeva Alexey Nemov Kathi Wörndl
Genzebe Dibaba Martin Kaymer Brian O’Driscoll

The Laureus World Sports Awards is the premier honours event on the international sporting calendar. The winners, as voted by the Laureus World Sports Academy, the ultimate sports jury, made up of more than 50 of the greatest sportsmen and sportswomen of all time, will be unveiled at the globally televised Awards Ceremony staged at the Messe Berlin Palais am Funkturm.

The Laureus World Sports Awards supports Laureus Sport for Good by showcasing the incredible work it does to transform the lives of individuals and communities around the world by using the power of sport as a tool to combat challenging social issues. Since its inception, Laureus Sport for Good has raised over €100 million and supported over 150 projects worldwide which use sport to tackle violence, discrimination and disadvantage. Laureus Sport for Good has helped to improve the lives of millions of young people in over 35 countries and is proving that sport can change the world.  

The Awards Ceremony, attended by legends of sport past and present, celebrates the achievements of the greatest sportsmen and sportswomen of the year.

The full list of Nominees for the 2016 Laureus World Sports Awards is:

Laureus World Sportsman of the Year Award

Usain Bolt (Jamaica) Athletics, Stephen Curry (US) Basketball, Novak Djokovic (Serbia) Tennis, Lewis Hamilton (UK) Motor Racing, Lionel Messi (Argentina) Football, Jordan Spieth (US) Golf.

Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year Award

Genzebe Dibaba (Ethiopia) Athletics, Anna Fenninger (Austria) Skiing, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (Jamaica) Athletics, Katie Ledecky (US) Swimming, Carli Lloyd (US) Football, Serena Williams (US) Tennis.

Laureus World Team of the Year Award

All Blacks (NZ) Rugby, FC Barcelona (Spain) Football, Golden State Warriors (US) Basketball, GB Davis Cup Team (Tennis), Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team (Germany), US Women’s Football Team.

Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year Award

Chile Men’s Football Team, Jason Day (Australia) Golf, Tyson Fury (UK) Boxing, Adam Peaty (UK) Swimming, Jordan Spieth (US) Golf, Max Verstappen (Netherlands).

Laureus World Comeback of the Year Award

Dan Carter (NZ) Rugby, Jessica Ennis-Hill (UK) Athletics, Mick Fanning (Australia) Surfing, Michael Phelps (US) Swimmer, David Rudisha (Kenya) Athletics, Lindsey Vonn (US) Skiing.

Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability Award

Marie Bochet (France) Skiing, Liu Cuiqing (China) Athletics, Daniel Dias (Brazil) Swimming, Omara Durand (Cuba) Athletics, Pieter Du Preez (S.Africa) Athletics, Cycling, Leung Yuk Wing (China Hong Kong) Boccia.

Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year Award

Rachel Atherton (UK) Mountain Biking, Bob Burnquist (Brazil) Skateboard, Adriano de Souza (Brazil) Surfing, Mick Fanning (Australia) Surfing, Jan Frodeno (Germany) Ironman Triathlon, Chloe Kim (US) Snowboarding.

For more detailed biographies of Nominees go to

Among the sporting greats who have previously been named as winners of Laureus Awards over the last 16 years are Usain Bolt, Sebastian Coe, Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, Alex Ferguson, Lewis Hamilton, Kelly Holmes, Yao Ming, Rafael Nadal, Pelé, Steve Redgrave, Ronaldo, Michael Schumacher, Kelly Slater, Shaun White, Serena Williams and Zinedine Zidane.

Click here for more news about the Laureus World Sports Awards 2016

To apply for media accreditation go to