The Nomination Committee's proposal for Mekonomen's Board of Directors

Prior to the Annual General Meeting on 2 May 2019, the Nomination Committee of Mekonomen Aktiebolag proposes re-election of board members John S. Quinn, Eivor Andersson, Kenny Bräck, Joseph M. Holsten, Magnus Håkansson and Helena Skåntorp, as well as election of Arja Taaveniku as new member of the Board of Directors.

The Nomination Committee of Mekonomen today announced its proposals for the election of the Board of Directors at the Annual General Meeting to be held on 2 May 2019. In addition to the proposal to re-election of John S. Quinn, Eivor Andersson, Kenny Bräck, Joseph M. Holsten, Magnus Håkansson and Helena Skåntorp, the Committee proposed the election of Arja Taaveniku as new member of the Board of Directors.

Arja Taaveniku, born in 1968, has upheld various international leadership roles within the IKEA Group and has served as the CEO of the Ikano Group in Luxembourg. The past 3,5 years she has served as the Chief Offer and Supply Chain Officer including being a member of the Group Executive Committee at Kingfisher Plc in the United Kingdom, and is currently in transition for a next role. Arja Taaveniku has extensive strategic and operational experience from developing customer value propositions, managing complete value chains and leveraging on benefits of scale, and from leading large company transformations. She is an Executive MBA graduate from Stockholm School of Economics. 

The board member Malin Persson has informed the Nomination Committee that she declines re-election at the 2019 Annual General Meeting.

“We are very pleased to be able to propose Arja Taaveniku to be part of Mekonomen's Board of Directors. We believe her combination of international experience and strong supply chain management will allow her to be a significant contributor to Mekonomen’s Board of Directors. We would also like to thank Malin Persson for a valuable contribution to the Mekonomen Board the last four years”, says John S. Quinn, chairman of the Nomination Committee.

John S. Quinn is proposed to be re-elected as Chairman of the Board.

The other proposals of the Nomination Committee will be presented in the notice to the Annual General Meeting.

The Nomination Committee comprises of John S. Quinn, LKQ Corporation, Chairman of the Nomination Committee, Kristian Åkesson, Didner & Gerge Småbolagsfond, Arne Lööw, the Fourth Swedish National Pension Fund, and Caroline Sjösten, Swedbank Robur Fonder. Mekonomen’s board member, Helena Skåntorp, has been co-opted to the Nomination Committee.

The Annual General Meeting of Mekonomen will be held on Thursday 2 May 2019 at 4:00 p.m. at Vasateatern, Vasagatan 19, in Stockholm.

For further information, please contact:

John S. Quinn, Chairman of the Nomination Committee
Tel: +46 (0)8- 464 00 00

About Us

Mekonomen operates in the car aftermarket and consists of leading car service chains in Northern Europe with a proprietary wholesale operation, more than 460 branches and over 3,400 affiliated workshops operating under the Group’s brands. Through its branch network, Mekonomen Group offers affordable spare parts and accessories to the affiliated workshops, other workshops, other B2B customers, as well as car owners. Around 90 per cent of sales are business to business, where 80 per cent of the orders are digital. The largest business to business customers are affiliated workshops operating under the Group´s concepts AutoMester, BilXtra, Din Bilpartner, Meca Car Service, Mekonomen Bilverkstad, O.K. Serwis, Speedy and others. The Group operates through four business areas – FTZ with operations in Denmark, Inter-Team with operations in Poland, MECA/Mekonomen with operations in Norway and Sweden and Sørensen og Balchen with operations in Norway.