Fort Worth mayor among seven distinguished UT Arlington alumni to be honored during Oct. 19 gala

ARLINGTON, Texas -- The 48th Annual Distinguished Alumni Gala will honor the achievements of seven alumni at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 19, in the E.H. Hereford University Center Bluebonnet Ballroom.

Tickets and sponsorships are available through the UT Arlington Alumni Association. Proceeds support scholarships for UT Arlington students. Visit for more information or call 817-272-2594.

Honorees include Fort Worth Mayor Betsy Price, who earned a bachelor’s degree in biology from UT Arlington in 1972. Price served as Tarrant County Tax Assessor for 11 years before being elected mayor in 2011. She has been credited with promoting jobs, strengthening education, fighting crime and improving mobility during her tenure.

An avid bicyclist, Mayor Price helped organize FitWorth, a citywide initiative to encourage active lifestyles and healthy habits in children and adults. She also has championed responsible and sustainable cuts to balance the city’s $1.2 billion budget and advocated changes to the pension plan to protect taxpayers and stabilize the fund.

Other 2013 distinguished alumni honorees are:

  • Herbert A. Beckwith (M.S., Accounting, ’94)Chief financial officer and senior vice president of international operations for Justin Brands.
  • Arun Bhikshesvaran (M.S., Electrical Engineering, ’95) – Chief marketing officer for L.M. Ericsson Group.
  • Barbara White Bryson (B.S., Architecture, ’84) – Associate vice president for facilities engineering and planning at Rice University.
  • Keith L. Crandell (M.S., Chemistry, ’87)Co-founder and managing director of ARCH Venture Partners, a 27-year-old seed and early-stage venture capital partnership.
  • JoAnn Lee, (B.A., Political Science, ’76)Assistant general counsel, global litigation for ExxonMobil and a member of the Law Department Management Committee.
  • Jeffrey A. Leuschel, (B.A., Political Science, ’77) Partner in the Dallas office of McCall, Parkhurst & Horton L.L.P., representing clients in municipal finance transactions in Texas and Oklahoma.

The Distinguished Alumni Award, established in 1965, is the highest honor given by the University and the University of Texas at Arlington Alumni Association. The awards honor individual achievements, contributions to industry or profession, community service and demonstrated loyalty to UT Arlington.

Dr. Ignacio Nuñez’s (B.A., Biology, ’75), a 2010 Distinguished Alumnus, will be the master of ceremonies for the 2013 event. Nunez is an obstetrician and gynecologist with Family Healthcare Associates in Arlington and a 30-year veteran of health care. He is a past president of the Fort Worth OB-GYN Society, and member of the Tarrant County Medical Society and other prominent health organizations.

The University of Texas at Arlington is a comprehensive research institution of more than 33,300 students and more than 2,200 faculty members in the heart of North Texas. It is the second largest institution in The University of Texas System. Visit to learn more.


Media contact: Bridget Lewis,, 817-272-3317

The University of Texas at Arlington,