Four new honorary doctors at Karolinska Institutet

The Board of the Research at Karolinska Institutet has appointed four new honorary doctors, who will be conferred at a ceremony in Stockholm City Hall on 23 May 2014.

Every year, Karolinska Institutet confers honorary doctorates to individuals who have made significant scientific achievements, vital contributions to the university or to humanity in general.

Anders Lönner, Honorary Doctor of Medicine (MDhc)

Anders Lönner, Master of Political Sciences and formerly Managing Director of KaroBio, Deputy Managing Director of Astra AB, board member of the international company Valeant and, over the period 1999-2013, president of the pharmaceutical group Meda AB, has been appointed Honorary Doctor of Medicine. Through his entrepreneurial skills, Anders Lönner has played an important role in Swedish pharmaceutical research, the Swedish pharmaceutical industry and for the Swedish society in general. Anders Lönner has for many years shown a strong personal engagement in Karolinska Institutet, especially in the area of treatment research. He has been engaged in, and stimulated, cooperation between Karolinska Institutet and the pharmaceutical industry. He has served as an adviser for Karolinska Institutet on matters relating to innovation and has participated actively in Karolinska Institutet’s external activities, both within Sweden and internationally.

Zhu Chen, Honorary Doctor of Medicine (MDhc)

Zhu Chen, medical doctor and professor in haematology, Honorary Director of Shanghai Institute of Haematology and Director of the Shanghai Center for Systems Biomedicine at Shanghai Jiao Tong University, has been appointed Honorary Doctor of Medicine. Zhu Chen has conducted a series of research assignments at medical institutions in China and in France, the USA and Canada. As a researcher, Zhu Chen has, among other things, developed a paradigm-shifting synergistic targeting therapy for acute promyelocytic leukemia with all-trans retinoic acid and arsenic trioxide that turns this most fatal haematological malignancy to a clinically curable disease. During his period as China’s Medical Health Minister, from June 2007-March 2013, Zhu Chen initiated and ran a very forward-looking programme of reform work directed at China’s medical care system. He has also been playing an important role in Sweden’s and China’s joint efforts to improve public health. Through his efforts, a large number of young Chinese researchers have attended courses in research at Karolinska Institutet. As Vice-President of the Chinese Academy of Science (CAS) he has endeavoured the cooperation between Karolinska Institutet and leading universities in China, including Shanghai Jiao Tong University and Sun Yat-sen University in Guangzhou.

William P. Magee and Kathleen S. Magee, Honorary Doctors of Odontology (ODhc)

Dentist and Plastic Surgeon William P. Magee, Jr. and Nurse and Clinical Social Worker Kathleen S. Magee have been appointed Honorary Doctors of Odontology. In 1982 they established the charitable organisation Operation Smile, whose operations aim at treating children with facial deformities in resource-poor environments. The activities are focused on children who have been born with lip-, jaw- and gum-clefts defects, which may lead to death as a result of lack of nutrition at an early age or to the children being hidden away and receiving neither proper schooling nor a normal social life. With the support of generous donators and medical volunteers, the organisation has so far performed surgery on over 200.000 children, at no cost to their families. The treatment has also included nutritional advice, play therapy, speech training and dental care.

Operation Smile is today a worldwide humanitarian organisation with its centre in the Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA. It constitutes a global network of International Foundations and Resource Chapters with programs in over 60 countries. In Sweden, Operation Smile has been in existence since 2010, with some 200 volunteers from different care segments. Many of these volunteers are actively engaged in work at Karolinska Institutet and Karolinska University Hospital.

The honorary doctors’ degrees will be conferred at a ceremony to be held in Stockholm City Hall on 23 May 2014, when each of the recipients will be presented with a doctor’s hat, a diploma and a ring from the dean of research.

For further information, please contact:

Dean of research, Hans-Gustaf Ljunggren
Tel: +46 8-585 806 02

Press Office

Karolinska Institutet is one of the world’s leading medical universities. It accounts for over 40 per cent of the medical academic research conducted in Sweden and offers the country’s broadest range of education in medicine and health sciences. Since 1901 the Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet has selected the Nobel laureates in Physiology or Medicine.


About Us

KAROLINSKA INSTITUTET PRESS OFFICE Opening hours: Monday–Friday 8-20, Saturday–Sunday 9-17, CET. Karolinska Institutet – a medical university. Read more on