2018 Stars of the Industry Award-Winners Announced at the California Hotel & Lodging Association's Annual Event

Coronado, Calif., The California Hotel & Lodging Association announced its 2018 award-winners today during its Stars of the Industry celebration at the Hotel del Coronado. This annual event honors the lodging employees and properties that best embody the quality service standards of the industry.

Outstanding Lodging Employee of the Year:

Carmelita Wood – Menlo Park Inn, Menlo Park

John Dunleavy – Hotel Paradox, Santa Cruz

Francisca Melena – Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, Long Beach

Outstanding Manager of the Year:

Suman Chand – Springhill Suites Sacramento Airport Natomas, Sacramento

Kether Johnson – Ramada Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara

Corey Menotti – Hotel del Coronado, Coronado

Outstanding General Manager of the Year:

Marc R. Kassouf – Quiet Creek Inn, Idyllwild

James Lim – Omni Hotels & Resorts San Francisco, San Francisco

Stevan Porter Emerging Hospitality Leader of Year Award: This award honors an exemplary lodging employee under age 30 who has demonstrated superior professional dedication, leadership, and a fresh perspective to their job.

Fernando Mondragon – Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa, Indian Wells

WIL Connect Leader of the Year Award: This award is given to a female hospitality professional who serves as a leader and role model within the hotel community.

Joselyne Simonsen – Omni Hotels & Resorts San Francisco, San Francisco

HD Supply Housekeeping Award: This award recognizes housekeepers/room attendants who show commitment to extraordinary guest service, exceptional cleanliness of guest rooms and public areas, and a true passion for the hospitality business.

Brenda Vallejo – Hotel Nikko San Francisco, San Francisco

Peggy Mosley Industry Champion Award: This award is given to outstanding CHLA or CABBI members who have demonstrated professionalism in operating a member property and have taken a leadership role in our industry and in his or her community.

Stephanie McCaffrey – McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn, Twain Harte

Community Service Award: This award is given for programs that demonstrate the individual property’s responsiveness to the local community.

Fairmont San Jose, San Jose

Good Earthkeeping Award: This award recognizes lodging properties that have developed a culture toward integrating environmental management practices that improve everyday operations and the bottom line, while maintaining quality service and meeting guest expectations.

Terranea Resort, Rancho Palos Verdes

Guest Relations Award: This award is given for programs that develop a climate conducive to new or repeat business, create goodwill among guests or effectively solve guest complaints.

Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, San Francisco

Argonaut Hotel, San Francisco


“Congratulations to our 2018 Stars of the Industry award-winners,” said CHLA President & CEO Lynn Mohrfeld.  “I’d like to thank all of our winners and nominees for their continued dedication and outstanding contributions to our state’s lodging industry.”  


# # #


About Us

Recognized as one of the most influential state lodging associations throughout the country, the California Hotel & Lodging Association's mission is to protect the rights and interests of owners and operators and be their indispensable business resource. Established in 1893, to represent a burgeoning industry, CH&LA has built upon the goals and objectives first established in 1893, CH&LA continues to serve the unique interests of each segment of California's diverse lodging industry.