New Nobel Commettee for Physiology or Medicine

The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet has appointed new members of the Nobel Committee for Physiology or Medicine. Professor Juleen R. Zierath was elected as Chairman of the Committee for 2013. She succeeds Professor Urban Lendahl, who concludes his 6 year term on the Nobel Committee.

Professor Thomas Perlmann (Molecular Development Biology) will be the vice chairman of the Nobel Committee. Other members include Professors Jan Andersson (Infectious Diseases), Rune Toftgård (Environmental Toxicology) and Anna Wedell (Medical Genetics). In addition, 10 ad hoc members are selected each year to serve on the Nobel Committee to provide expertise in a wide variety of research areas.

Professor Göran K. Hansson continues to serve as Secretary of the Nobel Committee and the Nobel Assembly, as well as Director of the Medical Nobel Institute.

Juleen R. Zierath was born in 1961 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States and holds both Swedish and American citizenship. She is a professor of Clinical Integrative Physiology at Karolinska Institutet since 2001. Her research is focused on metabolism and diabetes, and she works at the Departments of Molecular Medicine and Surgery, as well as Physiology and Pharmacology. Juleen R. Zierath is the first female Chairman of the Nobel Committee for Physiology or Medicine.

The Nobel Prize is the world´s most prestigious award of its kind. Hundreds of nominations for the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine are received each year from researchers all over the world. The Nobel Committee investigates and evaluates all of candidates and presents its proposal for the award to the Nobel Assembly. The Nobel Assembly will make its decision to award the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine on October 7, 2013, and as usual, it will be announced immediately thereafter.

Press photo of Juleen R Zierath is attached.

For more information:

Juleen R Zierath, tel. +46 8 524 87 581
Göran K Hansson, tel. +46 8 524 87 801

The Nobel Assembly, consisting of 50 professors at Karolinska Institutet, awards the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. Its Nobel Committee evaluates the nominations. Since 1901 the Nobel Prize has been awarded to scientists who have made the most important discoveries for the benefit of mankind.

Nobel Prize® is the registered trademark of the Nobel Foundation


About Us

The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet awards the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. As described in Alfred Nobel’s will, the Prize is dedicated to “the person who shall have made the most important discovery within the domain of physiology or medicine”. Nominations are invited from scientists around the world and evaluated by the Medical Nobel Committee, which identifies the leading candidates. The Nobel Assembly makes the final decision by vote, usually on the first Monday in October. The Prize is awarded for discovery, i.e. it is not a lifetime achievement award. Up to 3 individuals can share a Nobel Prize. It is not awarded posthumously.